Mayo Stages Rally: Full Show

Thanks to Flyin Finn Motorsport we have a full 30 minute programme dedicated to the Mayo Stages Rally 2017.

Watch it here:

<span class="light">Joseph</span> McGonigle & Ciaran Geaney 1st OA
<span class="light">Frank</span> Wray & Joe McNulty 2nd OA
<span class="light">Adrian</span> Hethrington & Ronan Oneill 3rd OA

McGonigle storms to success in Mayo Stages Rally

As the day dawned and the mist lifted over the Achill hills the first round of the Sligo Pallets Border Championship kicked off in style. The early stages were challenging due to overnight rain but once the sun came out and the stages dried up the drivers got into their own rhythm and their confidence increased as the day went on. First off the mark was Joseph McGonigle with Ciaran Geaney in their Skoda Fabia R5, despite struggling early in the morning, the team recovered in the third stage to maintain their lead for the rest of the day. Late entrant Frank Wray and Joe McNulty in their Subaru Impreza were second overall, narrowly piping Adrian Hethrington and Ronan O’Neill in a Ford Escort to the post with just split seconds between them. Recently returned from Australia, Pauric Duffy with Kevin Glynn in their Ford Fiesta R5 (class5) had a good day out, they challenged McGonigle all day and were in the lead for the first loop of stages. Their luck was short lived and after a driveshaft broke which caused a spin and they dropped to 6th place but gradually climbed back up and gained 2 places by stage 5. They finished the day in 4th place overall and were the first Mayo & District Motorsport Club members home to take the Margaret McGreal Perpetual Cup. Mayo and District Motorsport Club would like to thank joint title sponsors Óstán Oileán Acla and Connacht Print & Signs, in addition to their many local sponsors, marshals and officials who helped out over the weekend, Midwest Radio and the local residents who were so welcoming and accommodating. We look forward to returning to Achill again in the not too distant future.

Twitter Timeline

Facebook Feed

Well done to all our members who were in action in Donegal at the weekend. In the International Category, Pauric Duffy & Kevin Glynn finished 6th overall and 3rd in class 5 in their Fiesta R5. Good points for the tarmac championship.

In the National Category Andrew Grennan sitting with Vivian Hamill finished 5th overall and 2nd in Class 14 in their Mark 2 Escort, they also took home top ITRC modified points.

Stephen McGing sitting with Liam McIntyre finished 27th overall and 3rd in Class 20 in a Mitsubishi Evo 9.

Trisha Greevy sitting with Paul Crosby finished 37th overall and 6th in Class 11R in their RWD Starlet.

It the Historic Category, Paul McGee finished 3rd overall sitting with Francis Barrett in a Mark 2 Escort. Paul initially started the rally sitting with Ian Barrett in a Darrian but they encountered some mechanical problems on Friday and had to retire and he started his second rally on Saturday with Francis.

In the Juniors, top finisher was Conor Duffy sitting with Jenna McCann in a Fiesta R2. They finished 3rd overall.
Justin Ryan and John Bourke finished 3rd in Class and 6th overall and they picked up 2nd place championship points. Brian & Lorcan Moore had a great start in their Honda Civic but were unfortunate not to finish.

Big thanks to Deirdre Burke & David J for updates & photos!
... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

Well done to club member Lorcan Moore navigating for John Reddington at the weekend in Rally van Wervik in Belgium. They finished 16th overall and 2nd in class in their mark 2 Escort, taking maximum FIRC points for the second time. Lorcan is now focusing on the Donegal International Rally next weekend when he will be navigating for his brother Brian in a Honda Civic. ... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook


Because it’s important

The content of Mayo & District Motorsport Club’s website is copyright. Contents include information, graphics, text, images, photographs and logos. Unauthorized use of any content on the website may violate copyright, trademark and other laws. Materials on this website may not be modified, reproduced or publicly displayed, distributed or used for any public or commercial purposes without the written permission of Mayo & District Motorsport Club.

Requests for permission to use Mayo & District Motorsport Club’s logo

Request for permission to use Mayo & District Motorsport Club’s logo should be directed to the Club Secretary. Explain how and why you wish to use the club’s logo. Please include your name, organisation, telephone number, and email address.


We hope you enjoy the new website. If you have any ideas or would like to get in touch please do!

Get in touch