Tynan is Top Dog in the Quarry

Michael Tynan from Clones, Co. Monaghan beat all challengers to claim victory on the first Mayo & District Motorsport Club, Loose Surface Autocross of 2016. Driving a Mitsubishi Evo, he had to do it the hard way, coming from behind on the final run to beat local favourite James McGreal and Fermanagh’s Eamon Mimnagh.

So tight were things at the summit that after the second run the top three were separated by just .8 of a second. Mimnagh was on top, having overtaken James McGreal who was quickest on the first run. But the Monaghan man and Mayo Autocross stalwart showed his class and experience by powering his Mitsubishi round the sun kissed motorway like track and taking the win by a margin of one and half seconds.

Mimnagh demoted James McGreal to third with Tynan’s son and former Mayo Autocross Champion Martin Tynan finishing fourth. John McGeehan brought his Subaru Impreza home fifth while Mervyn Galbraith was the top two wheel drive competitor securing sixth in his Vauxhall Nova.

Current Irish Forestry Junior Champion Patrick O’Brien was seventh and also won Class 4, double driving a Ford Escort while David Kerr finished eighth and won Class three in his Peugeot 106. Walter Burke brought his Ford Escort home ninth. Glen Irwin rounded off the top ten in his Vauxhall Nova.

Stephen Doherty secured the Mayo Club award in his first outing in his newly acquired  Subaru Impreza finishing  fourteenth; one place ahead of Junior Intermediate class winner young Lorcan Moore from Crossmolina, who raised eyebrows with some impressive times, finishing ahead of many Autocross seasoned regulars.

Shrule’s Jason Murphy was the winner of the 14-16 year old Junior Class in his Honda Civic.

1st     Michael Tynan        Clones            Mitsubshi Evo     04:06.89

2nd    Eamon Mimnagh     Fermanagh    Mitsubshi Evo     04:08.41

3rd     James McGreal       Foxford          Mitsubshi Evo     04:11.43

4th     Martin Tynan            Clones           Mitsubshi Evo     04:12.24

5th     John McGeehan       Williamstown  Subaru Impreza  04:17.63

6th     Mervyn Galbraith      Omagh           Vauxhall Nova    04:22.77

7th     Patrick O’Brien          Omagh             Ford Escort       04:22.83

8th      David Kerr                 Omagh              Peugeot 106    04:22.98

9th      Walter Burke             Willaimstown     Ford Escort      04:22.14

10th   Glen Irwin                  Castlederg        Vauxhall Nova   04:26.87

Download results here:
Autocross May 2016 Results


Winner Tynan Flying high at Mayo AutocrossWinner Tynan Flying high at Mayo Autocross (1)