Download the point by clicking on the link below:

Points after Round 1

May Autocross Prizegiving & Action Gallery


Tynan is Top Dog in the Quarry

Michael Tynan from Clones, Co. Monaghan beat all challengers to claim victory on the first Mayo & District Motorsport Club, Loose Surface Autocross of 2016. Driving a Mitsubishi Evo, he had to do it the hard way, coming from behind on the final run to beat local favourite James McGreal and Fermanagh’s Eamon Mimnagh.

So tight were things at the summit that after the second run the top three were separated by just .8 of a second. Mimnagh was on top, having overtaken James McGreal who was quickest on the first run. But the Monaghan man and Mayo Autocross stalwart showed his class and experience by powering his Mitsubishi round the sun kissed motorway like track and taking the win by a margin of one and half seconds.

Mimnagh demoted James McGreal to third with Tynan’s son and former Mayo Autocross Champion Martin Tynan finishing fourth. John McGeehan brought his Subaru Impreza home fifth while Mervyn Galbraith was the top two wheel drive competitor securing sixth in his Vauxhall Nova.

Current Irish Forestry Junior Champion Patrick O’Brien was seventh and also won Class 4, double driving a Ford Escort while David Kerr finished eighth and won Class three in his Peugeot 106. Walter Burke brought his Ford Escort home ninth. Glen Irwin rounded off the top ten in his Vauxhall Nova.

Stephen Doherty secured the Mayo Club award in his first outing in his newly acquired  Subaru Impreza finishing  fourteenth; one place ahead of Junior Intermediate class winner young Lorcan Moore from Crossmolina, who raised eyebrows with some impressive times, finishing ahead of many Autocross seasoned regulars.

Shrule’s Jason Murphy was the winner of the 14-16 year old Junior Class in his Honda Civic.

1st     Michael Tynan        Clones            Mitsubshi Evo     04:06.89

2nd    Eamon Mimnagh     Fermanagh    Mitsubshi Evo     04:08.41

3rd     James McGreal       Foxford          Mitsubshi Evo     04:11.43

4th     Martin Tynan            Clones           Mitsubshi Evo     04:12.24

5th     John McGeehan       Williamstown  Subaru Impreza  04:17.63

6th     Mervyn Galbraith      Omagh           Vauxhall Nova    04:22.77

7th     Patrick O’Brien          Omagh             Ford Escort       04:22.83

8th      David Kerr                 Omagh              Peugeot 106    04:22.98

9th      Walter Burke             Willaimstown     Ford Escort      04:22.14

10th   Glen Irwin                  Castlederg        Vauxhall Nova   04:26.87

Download results here:
Autocross May 2016 Results


Winner Tynan Flying high at Mayo AutocrossWinner Tynan Flying high at Mayo Autocross (1)

Tour of the Sperrins

Derry pair Marty McCormack (Skoda Fabia S2000) and niece Caron won the Tour of Sperrins Rally in Maghera, Round 3 of the Valvoline Irish Forest Rally Championship.

Flying the Mayo Flag, Ed Muldoon was unlucky not to finish retiring with mechanical trouble on the penultimate stage.

Seconds for Mayo Competitors in Carlow

The Seven Oaks Hotel Carlow Rally, the third round of the Triton Showers National Rally Championship provided Donegal’s Manus Kelly and co-driver Donal Barrett with a Subaru WRC debut win.

They finished the nine stages 10.7 seconds ahead of the Ford Fiesta WRC of Clonmel’s Roy White and his Cork co-driver James O’Brien, who have extended their lead in the Triton series.

Top Mayo results were Achill’s Brian Lavelle who brought his Honda Civic home second in Class 1 while Jared Gill was second in Class 9 navigating for Galway’s Ray Cunningham in a Mini.

Unlucky not to finish, local Navi Andrew Grennan retired on Stage 6

Middle East Podium for Duffy

The third round of the FIA Middle East Rally Championship, the Jordan Rally concluded on Saturday at the Dead Sea with Qatar’s Nasser Al-Attiyah taking the win ahead of Abdulaziz Al Kuwari and Mayo navigator Killian Duffy who finished second in their Skoda Fabia R5.

It was a good result for the Qatari Irish pairing after drama during Stage 10 on Friday afternoon. After colliding with a rock and damaging a wheel resulting in their car leaving the road, once they re-joined they had dropped to fifth and on the final day battled back to finish the event in second place.

Rally of the Lakes 2016

May Autocross Entry List

Click on the link to download:

Mayo Autocross Entry List

Mayo Autocross Final Instructions 1

Click on the link to download:

Final Instructions 1

Monaghan Stages Rally

Closer to home this weekend several members of Mayo & District Motorsport Club were in action competing at the Monaghan Stages Rally, Top local finisher was Andrew Grennan, the Monaghan native, now residing in Aghamore navigated Tyrone’s Vivian Hamill to 8th overall and 4th place in class 14. Darragh Mullen guided Shane Forde to top spot in Class 2 and 41st overall. The Castlebar and Westport pairing of Barry Cuffe and Stephen McGing survived some high speed sideways moments in their Mk2 Escort to finish in 46th and 7th in class. James McGreal and Chris Mitchell brought their Mitsubishi Evo home 2nd in Class and 64th overall. Achill’s Brian Lavelle and Lorcan Moore recovered from a driveshaft problem on the opening loop to rejoin under rally 2 and finished 3rd in Class 1 and in 80th place overall. Unlucky not to finish the event was Ballina’s Derek McCarthy who was navigating for Stephen Reynolds, they had an off road excursion in their Honda Civic on the opening loop.

The event was won by Monaghan local Josh Moffett in a WRC Fiesta who finished 40 seconds of his brother Sam in a Fiesta R5.

Last weekend also seen the return of Liam Devaney and his trusty Peugeot 205, he was in action at the Galway & Clare Motorclub Ballyvaughan Hill climb