Club Report – October 2017

Motor club report October 2017


On the 7th October at the Donegal Harvest Rally Brian Lavelle and Darren Curran driving a Honda Civic came 3rd in class 11F and 25th overall.
James McGreal and Chris Mitchell came 1st in class 15 and 56th overall in their Mitsubishi Evo 6.

(Also 7th Oct) at the Hemicuda Rally in Belgium, Aidan Gannon from Tubbercurry who was navigating for Anthony
O’Brien came 5th overall and 1st in the FIRC (Flanders International Rally Challenge). Crossmolina’s Lorcan Moore
navigating for John Reddington came 1st overall in the FIRC championship 2wd and they became the first Irish crew
to ever win a Belgian Championship outright. Congratulations and well done to all.

On the 22nd October Jared Gill navigating for Ray Cunningham won the Mini Sport Mini Cup championship in the UK.

Last weekend (29th Oct) at Wales Rally GB Killian Duffy navigating for Brendan Comiskey in a R5 Fiesta came 29th
overall, well done Killian.


Sligo Pallets Border Championship/National Championship

The club have a number of winners in the Sligo Pallets Border Championship this year. Well done to James
McGreal & Chris Mitchell who came 1st in class 15; and to Keith Jacobs who came 3rd in the Border Junior
championships (class 16) and his navigator Michael Carr who came 2nd. Well done to Ronan Denning & Karl
Egan who came 1st in class 2 in the Border Championship and also 2nd in class in the Triton Shower National Rally
Championship 2017.

The Sligo Pallets Border Championship prize giving takes place in the Sligo Park Hotel this Saturday night. The
Triton Shower National Rally Championship prize giving takes place in Athlone on Saturday 18th November.



2nd Annual Margaret McGreal Fuel Economy Drive

Last Monday 30th October the 2nd Annual Margaret McGreal Fuel Economy Driver took place. The route driven
was the same as last year – Ballina to Belmullet along the wild Atlantic way via Killala, Ballycastle and Blacksod
before heading back to Ballina via Bangor. The weather was more favourable than last year and everyone enjoyed
the day. The overall winner was Finnian McManamon, Joe Dolan (Connacht Motorclub) took the honours in the
Vintage class and Mick Noone won the motorbike class. Brian Harrington used the least amount of fuel (2.32
litres). Well done to all the winners, to the organisers and to all who supported the event.