June Autocross Results & Report

Mayo & District Motorsport Club were back in action in the Valley on Sunday 10th, June for the second of four Loose Surface Autocross events for 2018.   The day itself was a little cooler that what we have become accustomed to these past few weeks in the West but the rain stayed away and conditions were perfect for competing cars.   Similar to previous events there was a great entry from far and near.

All classes were well contested in particular class 4 and 5 with ten cars in each.   At the end of the first run it was obvious from the results that it was shaping up to be an interesting day in particular with class 5 where both Paul McCann and Derek Mackarel were tied on a time of 04.07.19.   On the second run it was Peter McCullagh who took the lead but by the end of the third and final run Derek Mackarel setting a time of 03.49.48 took the overall award for the day.   Derek from Clones has been nominated recently for this years ‘Motorsport Ireland Billy Coleman Young Driver Award’.  Nearer to home, James McGreal took the honours for the fastest Mayo & District Club member of the day.  In class 7, Niall Murphy took the honours on his first autocross event, finishing just ahead of Achills Molly McManamon.

WIth two of the four autocross events completed, both the ‘Frank Harrington Challenge’ and the ‘Mayo & District Young Driver Championship’ are wide open and the next event due to take place on Sunday 22nd of July will be one to watch.    For more information check out www.mayomotorsportclub.com



Overall Winner – Derek Mackarel   Mayo & District Award – James McGreal

Class 1.         1st   Ciaran McCullagh; 2nd Glen Irwin; 3rd Dermot Reynolds

Class 3.                   1st David Kerr; 2nd Daryl McCanny; 3rd Patrick McEveney Jnr

Class 4.         1st Mervyn Deane, 2nd Walter Burke; 3rd Hugh McQuaid

Class 5.         1st Peter Mc Cullagh; 2nd Andrew Mackerel; 3nd Michael Tynan

Class 7.          1st Niall Murphy; 2nd Molly McManamon

Full results :