Loose Surface Autocross 6th May 2018

Mayo & District Motorsport Club made a welcome return to the Valley for the first of four Loose Surface Autocross events for 2018. The good weather added to the day and with an enthusiastic team in place there was never a doubt this was going to be a successful event.

Competitors travelled from far and near and despite a number of club members competing in the Rally of the Lakes in Killarney and at the Grass Autocross in Dublin there was a significant entry from the club. For a number of competitors it was their first day in the quarry with Paul McLoughlin travelling from Sligo to take part and local club member Molly McManamon taking part in her first ever motorsport event.

This event was the opening round of both the ‘Frank Harrington Challenge’ and the ‘Mayo & District Young Driver Championship. The competitors did not fail to impress and special mention has to be given to local clubman David (Tiny) Healy who had a spectacular wobble on his final run. Cavan’s Paul McCann took the overall win of the day with the fastest time, Michael Tynan and Andrew Mackeral, both from Monaghan took 1st and 2nd place respectively in class 5. Nearer to home, Pat McEveney took the Mayo & District club award, with son Patrick jnr taking 1st in class 3.

Event prize giving was a special one for Clerk of the Course Peter McManamon who got to present daughter Molly with her trophy for a win in class 7. He thanked the competitors for taking part and marshalls and officials for their hard work in setting up the event and making sure it ran smoothly.

After such an exciting start to the championship Mayo & District Motorsport club look forward to the next event which takes place on Sunday 10th of June. For more information check out


Overall Winner – Paul McCann

Mayo & District Award – Pat McEveney

Class 1. 1st Stephen Reynolds; 2nd Glen Irwin; 3rd Dermot Reynolds
Class 2. 1st Paul McLoughlin
Class 3. 1st Patrick McEveney; 2nd Steven Cafferty; 3rd Colm Connor
Class 4. 1st Ronan Moore
Class 5. 1st Michael Tynan; 2nd Andrew Mackerel; 3rd James McGreal
Class 7. 1st Molly McManamon