Mayo Loose Surface Autocross 2016


Always popular with competitors, once again, Mayo & District Motorsport Club will be running three championships as part of its 2016 Autocross season. The Frank Harrington Challenge trophy is awarded to the overall champion driver and all competitors are automatically eligible, with points awarded on overall finishing positions. Driver’s best three scores from the four events count towards final championship totals. There are awards for first, second and third placed competitors. Maynooth’s Ian Barrett dominated the overall Frank Harrington Championship in 2015 with his two event wins, he was followed by two more buggy boys, Ronan Mackle and James Cassidy who took second and third respectively.

Also the highly competitive Mayo & District Club Member Overall Frank Harrington Awards are on offer for again, the highest placed three club members in the Championship. In 2015 Foxford’s James McGreal proved experience was no match for youth and exuberance as he stormed away with the overall club championship award. Adrian Deane secured second, after three solid performances in his buggy and Alan Moran in his Peugeot 206 claimed third.

Additionally, the Mayo Young Driver Challenge continues in 2016. This competition is open to Mayo & District Motorsport Club members under the age of 30 on the first of January 2016, and has seen some highly competitive driving from up and coming competitors over the years. Last year Foxford’s Alan Moran reclaimed the Young Driver title and stopped Shrule’s Noel Murphy making it 3 in a row. Alan’s fine performances in the Irish Forest Championship through 2015 had him match fit when the local Autocross events came round. With rumours of cars exchanging hands over the winter and some new purchases being made around the district, the year ahead sure looks interesting in the Mayo Young Driver Championship.

Also for our third round in July we will once again play host to the 5 Star Catering National Loose Surface Autocross Championship. This National Championship, now in its fourth season, continues to grow from strength to strength and has been a fruitful hunting ground for Mayo members in the past three years, with not only many overall class awards claimed by Mayo drivers but also an overall title for Derek Deane in 2013 and an overall Junior title win for Oisin Coffey in 2015.

Due to circumstances beyond our control, Mayo & District Motorsport Club are unable to run the following classes at our Harrington’s Quarry venue for the upcoming season; Class 6, 7 & 10 for Buggies and Specials. We apologise for any inconvenience that this may cause competitors, and we appreciate your understanding. Further details regarding a venue for our National Championship Round on July 24th are to follow, keep an eye on our website.

Autocross can be a great, low budget way to break into Motorsport as many of our young (and some not so young) drivers will testify and the introduction of a class for 14-16 year olds who hold a Junior license in saloon cars up to 1450cc in 2016 is another step in development of a young driver to elite athlete level. If you want to compete in any form of sport at the very highest level, it is critical to develop skills from a young age, and we here at Mayo & District Motorsport Club look forward to providing a facility and environment for that development.

Our Loose Surface dates for 2016 are;

May 8th – June 12th – July 24th – August 21st

Regulations and entry form for the opening round on May 8th will be online approximately two weeks before the event on our club website

Mayo Loose Surface Autocross Safety Plan 2014