Mayo success in abundance at Border Rally Championship Awards

The 2016 Sligo Pallets Border Rally Championship prize-giving took place on last Saturday night in the Sligo Park Hotel. Monaghan’s Seamus Connolly and Gary McCrudden claimed the overall championship title.

There was excellent success for Mayo crews in the classes awards. Achill’s Brian Lavelle finished the year Class 1 runner up in his Honda Civic. Westport’s Stephen McGing rounded of an excellent year claiming top navigator honours in Class 11R while his driver Barry Cuffe went home with his award for runner up driver in Class 11R in his Elvery’s Intersport backed Escort Mk2. Foxford’s James McGreal and his navigator Chris Mitchell were Class 15 champions in their Mitsubishi Evo while 18 year old Lorcan Moore from Crossmolina was runner up navigator, also in Class 15. This was a great success for Lorcan having navigated in eleven events during the year while also finding time to sit and receive an excellent leaving cert!

A large crowd of members and supporters from Mayo & District Motorsport Club were in attendance to celebrate an excellent year for Mayo crews in the Border Championship.