Stages Rally 2013 – Locals All Set For Rally 2013

Locals All Set For Mayo Stages Rally
Needless to say many local competitors will be hoping to get good results on their local event. Behind the tenth seeds Andrew Mullen and Elaine Doherty from Ballisodare, the next highest local competitor is Mervyn Deane. The rapid Williamstown driver faces a tough challenge against the top competitors in class 13 in his Escort. At 24 are Ballinrobe based Sligo man John Warren and Ruthann O Connor from Kilmaine, in their McHales Farm Machinery sponsored Toyota Corolla, the pair having set some impressive times on this event last year before an off road excursion on the penultimate stage ended their rally. Ballinrobe father and son team Adrian and Aidan Fahy are at 41 in their class 13 Escort, they would like to thank We Fix Chimneys & Proactive Security both from Ballinrobe for their sponsorship. Shane Buckley is in a class 11 Honda Civic running at number 44. Joint main sponsor Ciaran Kennedy from Kennedy Motors, Ballina & Belmullet is at number 46 and has Paddy O’Hora alongside him on the notes.

Kenneth McHale and Derek McCarthy are seeded at 49, in a rather different car to that in which they achieved much success in the past. The Knockmore / Ballina pairing, who previously won class 1 on the 2007 Rally Ireland WRC event in a Toyota Yaris, are competing on this year’s Mayo Stages in a class 15 Subaru Impreza. Former Mayo Motorsport Club chairman Sean McHugh from Bekan has Niall Morley from Knock alongside him this year in his fabulous sounding BMW at number 51. Barry Cuffe starts at 60 in his class 13 Escort, just one place ahead of current Mayo & District Motorsport Club Chairman Matthew Murphy from Shrule, in his Westtyre Ballinrobe and M&R Motors Shrule backed class 11 Toyota Corolla, Matthew has his brother Ronan on the notes for him.

Keith McFadden from Turlough makes his return to rallying at 67 in a class 7 Clio. Headford and Ballinrobe partnership of Justin Ryan and Andy Walsh are at 68 in their Honda Civic and hope to improve on last year where they narrowly failed to claim an award for third in the very competitive class 2. Another class 2 Honda Civic pairing of Tony Langdon and Eddie Quinn are 71. At 74, Mayo Young Driver Autocross Champion Alan Moran from Foxford makes the jump to class 10 in his recently beefed up Opel Kadett. Alan has Jared Gill from Bofeenaun, sitting with him for this event.

Killala pairing of Gavin and Raymond Carroll are 78 in a Nova, while Ballina man Darragh Devine hopes to enjoy his first day out rallying in a Civic at 86. He has experienced navigator Paul McGee to help keep him between the ditches. Shrule man and former National Junior Autocross champion Noel Murphy is another one to make his debut in tarmac rallying at Mayo this year. Seeded 87 in another car from the WestTyre and M&R Motors stable, he hopes to bring his Honda Civic home to a good result in the Junior section of the rally. At 89 Aubrey Carson has Mary McAndrew to help guide him home in his class 10 Nova.