

LOOSE SURFACE AUTOCROSS

12th May 2019 Event Permit: 19/055

SUPPLEMENTARY REGULATIONS

Harrington's Quarry, The Valley, Swinford, Co. Mayo

Round 2: Frank Harrington Challenge
Round 2: Mayo & District Young Driver Championship

Authorised by Motorsport Ireland under permit no: 19/.

To be held under the International sporting code of the F.I.A, the General Competitions Rules of Motorsport Ireland, Appendix 86 of the current Motorsport Ireland Yearbook and these Supplementary Regulations and any further regulations which may issue.

The event is organised and promoted by Mayo & District Motorsport Club Ltd.

1: Officials.

Clerk of the Course: Peter McManamon

M.I Steward: Jimmy Feeney
Safety Officer: David Jordan
Secretary: Deirdre Burke

Equipment Officer: Samuel Carroll

PRO: Lorraine Munnelly

Assistant CoC: John McCarthy

Club Steward: Padraic Roche

Chief Scrutineer: Bernie Kenny Chief Marshal: Colin McGowan Timekeeper: Michael Jordan

2: Schedule.

Entries open: On publication of these Supplementary Regulations.

Entries close: Friday 10th May at 5pm.

Scrutiny: Harrington's Quarry at 08:00am – 09:30am. The venue will be signposted from Knock Airport and

access to the quarry will be via this route only.

N. B: Any driver not signed on by 9.30.a.m. may be excluded.

Driver's Briefing: 09:45am. **Familiarisation:** 10:00am. **Start:** 10:30am

3: Entries.

Entries are limited to a maximum of 60 competitors. If more than 60 entries are received, a reserve list will operate on a first come first served basis.

All competitors wishing to take part MUST RETURN a completed entry form and entry fee of €110/£100 or €80 for class 6 & class 7 competitors (Inclusive of Personal Accident Premium) to the event secretary before the closing date in order to confirm entry.

Entries to: Deirdre Burke, Callowbrack, Newport, Co. Mayo.

Email: deirdreburkemmc@gmail.com Tel: 087 2380376

A competitor who wishes to withdraw their entry must contact the event secretary on or before Friday 10th May, otherwise the entry fee will not be returned.

All drivers must be in possession of a current 2019 Competitions Licence and vehicle logbook.

4: Organisation.

- All competition vehicles must pass Scrutiny in accordance with Appendix 2 of MI Yearbook 2019.
- Car bodywork must be in presentable condition.
- Safety equipment MUST include a safety harness and a securely fitted 1.75 Kg minimum AFFF (or FIA Approved equivalent) Fire Extinguisher, as per Appendix 2 of the MI Yearbook 2019.
- Helmets and protective clothing must comply with standards set out in Appendices 2 & 5 for autocross events in the 2019 Yearbook.
- Mud flaps are obligatory on all wheels.
- A maximum of three drivers will be permitted per competing car.
- Each driver will be permitted one untimed familiarisation run during which stopping or holding back unnecessarily on the track is prohibited. This is not a competitive run.

5: Competition.

The event will consist of 3 timed runs. Each run will be of 2 laps of the track. Overtaking is not allowed. Any competitor who feels he/she has been baulked/delayed by another competitor or has been yellow flagged by a Marshal can request a re-run but must do so immediately on return to the Paddock. A re-run will only be granted at the discretion of the Clerk of the Course. Deliberate delay in taking a run as scheduled will result in forfeit of the run.

6: Penalties:

Penalties will be applied as per Appendix 86, Article 2.

A time penalty of 5 seconds will apply for moving blue barrels at chicanes outside of a marked circle.

Competition cars must not leave the venue under their own power at any time, before, during or after the event. The penalty for breach of this regulation is EXCLUSION.

All servicing must take place on a 5m x 4m Ground Sheet. Failure to do so will result in exclusion.

7: Timing / Results.

Timing will be to the nearest 1/100th second from a standing start to a flying finish and in accordance with Appendix 86 Article 9.7 of Motorsport Ireland Yearbook 2019. The Timekeepers times will be judged as final and correct. Results will be based on a competitor's fastest time (including penalties) for 1 run. The competitor with the overall fastest time (including penalties) for 1 run will be the winner. If a competitor is unable to complete a timed run a run maximum of 10 minutes will be applied.

- Frank Harrington Challenge: Awarded to top 3 overall placed competitors as per regulations.
- Mayo & District Young Driver Support Scheme: Awarded to the highest placed Club member as eligible under scheme regulations.

8: Classes.

Class 1: All Saloon cars up to 1450cc

Class 2: All Saloon cars from 1451cc to 1650cc with not more than 2 valves per cylinder

Class 3: All Saloon cars from 1451cc to 1650cc with more than 2 valves per cylinder

Class 4: All Saloon cars from 1651cc to 2100cc

Class 5: All Saloon cars 2101cc and over, 4WD & Turbo Charged Saloon Cars

Class 6: Intermediate class for 16 – 18-year olds, holding a "Speed National B" licence in saloon cars up to 1650cc.

Class 7: Junior class for 14 – 16-year olds, holding a "Junior" licence in saloon cars up to 1450cc.

9: Awards.

- Fastest time of the day.
- 1st, 2nd & 3rd in each class, provided there are 5 or more entries in each class (otherwise classes may be amalgamated) NOTE: The Overall winner is not eligible for class awards
- Ladies Award
- Highest placed Mayo & District Motorsport Club Member not receiving any other award.

Prize giving will be held after the event in the quarry.